top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

Travel Diary: Mt. Daraitan | Tanay, Rizal

Nowadays, trekking is becoming popular where everyone wants to experience and witness being on top of a mountain. Asking first how does it feel? Is it difficult? It it safe for beginners? Aside from those questions, I think the main purpose of the other people why do they do this is simply, it relieves their stress, they can have the chance to see the beauty of nature, motivates you to finish what you've started even though you know to yourself it's not going to be easy and lastly, you can enjoy and have fun while trekking. Of course, taking photos is the bonus of the experience.


I've been always wanting to experience trekking during the last year of my college life. I always tell to myself that one day, I will finally have the chance to feel being on top of the mountain. Luckily, when I started working at The Manila Hotel 2 months after I graduated, I met again my former classmate back when I was in college, she is Rio Ann Ko and we became workmates too. I've seen all of her instagram posts about the different trekking destinations she's been to. One day, Rio asked me if I want to join her in her next climb, of course I didn't think twice and right away I answered yes to her. So we planned, saved our salary for the budget of our trip, and got ready. Finally, This is it! I'm so excited.

This was my first time to go for a trek, and all I was thinking before we climb is to reach the top whatever happens. Actually I slept for only 2 hours because I just came to a 4pm-12am duty at work, and we need to be on the way at 6 o'clock in the morning. Sounds tiring right? I know that's not good to have enough strength for a first timer like me. I should've been resting before the day of trek, but of course I need to balance my work and my wants, and we're still eager to do this. Anyway, Mt. Daraitan is behind us :) Looks easy to climb right? But a big NO!

Here's a quick overview of Mt. Daraitan:

Major jumpoff: Brgy. Daraitan (village centre), Tanay

Minor jumpoff: Sitio Cablao Brgy. Pagsangahan, General Nakar

LLA: 14°36′48.5′′N 121°26′19.5′′ E, 739 MASL (+600)

Days required / Hours to summit: 1 day / 2.5-4 hours

Specs: Minor climb, Difficulty 4/9, Trail class 1-3

Features: Tropical forest, limestone formations, river trek

Source: www.pinoymountaineer.com

When we arrived at Starmall Shaw Boulevard, we rode UV Express Service going to Tanay Public Market and the fare is Php 70.00. Once we arrived at Tanay Public Market, we are offered right away by some tricycle drivers a service going to Brgy. Daraitan. Since it's already 9 o'clock in the morning and it's getting late to start our hike, we agreed to ride a tricycle (but you can have a choice either ride a jeepney or tricycle). The fare is supposedly 500 pesos for our group but while on our way to Brgy. Daraitan, the tricycle driver said that if we can add another 100 pesos for his gasoline because we will take an hour for a trip going to Brgy. Daraitan and we agreed to him. Upon arriving, we also paid Php 5.00 per head to cross the river, and I really enjoyed riding a boat while standing :) After crossing the river, we rode again another tricycle for a service going to Brgy. Daraitan and it costs Php 10.00/head.


Note: After crossing the river, the driver might drop you off. Tell them to drop you at the barangay hall instead. (We didn't know this at first that's why we rode again another tricycle after crossing the river, it's too late when we noticed. I think we are being fooled by the tricycle driver and it feels so irritating because we paid him right!)


Anyway, once you arrived at the barangay hall, you have to pay Php 20/head for the registration and Php 500 for the guide. (It's Php 1,250 for overnight. One guide is good for 10pax).

Unfortunately, it was a slippery and muddy hike for us because according to our guide it rained before we arrived at the barangay hall that's why we took 4 hours to reach the summit.

Water break at Station 1, two more stations to go! All of us we're starting to get tired and exhausted especially my friend Rio because at the middle of the trek, her shoes gave up and she's just wearing a socks up to the summit and down to barangay hall. Can you believe that? Well she's tougher than her shoes haha!

The good thing while on the trail it has plenty of holds and the trail was well-maintained

Almost there!

Finally! We reached the summit at around 2 o'clock in the afternoon. All the shortness of breathe, slip, and sweat are all paid off when you got to see this breathtaking view on top! Luckily, we also witnessed a wedding proposal from the other group while we're on the summit! Sweetest! <3

At the summit, you can see the Sierra Madre mountains and the meandering Daraitan river

Bestfriend goals indeed!

After all the photo ops at the summit, we had our lunch and headed down back to barangay hall. We took again 4 hours to go down and it's getting dark pretty quick.

Before going back to Manila, we decided to eat lomi which also served as our dinner and had our shower near the lomihan. After that we rode a tricycle again going back, cross again the river and rode a jeepney going back to Manila.

Our trip to Mt. Daraitan being my first mountain to conquer will always be memorable. I can say that the greatest pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do. I'd like to thank all my bundok buddies and to my friend Rio Ann especially for introducing me her hobby :) My journey to mountains starts here! More to go!

Happy travels!

xo, esca ♡

TIPS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

Go on a weekday instead of a weekend - we were told that it's always packed on the weekend, you may have a long time waiting for you turn to have a photo ops.

Bring lots of water and pack light - 4L of water is enough

Bring hiking gloves - the trail has plenty of holds, if you don't want to get dirt from mud and get wounded to branches or trunks of tree, hiking gloves is a must

There are Carenderias and Sari-sari stores - near the Barangay Hall, you can buy your packed meal there Bring light snack - such as biscuits, banana, or bread because you may feel hungry while on the trail

Bring extra clothes and slippers - while you're in the trail you may find yourself getting dirt from mud and rocks, so you can change afterwards.

Bring flashlight - in case you cannot finish the trek by daytime or you want to go for an overnight camping

BUDGETED EXPENSES:

Php 7.00 - Jeep from Visayas Ave to QC City Hall

Php 15.00 - Bus from QC City Hall to Starmall Shaw Blvd.

Php 70.00 - UV Express Service to Tanay Public Market

Php 600.00/group of 5 person - Tricycle service to Daraitan River

Php 5.00 - Crossing the river

Php 10.00 - Tricycle to Daraitan Barangay Hall

Php 20.00 - Registration fee

Php 500.00/group of 5 person - Tour guide (It's Php 1,250 for overnight. One guide is good for 10pax)

Php 120.00 - Food

Php 10.00 - Tricycle to Daraitan River

Php 5.00 - Crossing the river

Php 120.00 - Jeep back to Manila


RELATED POSTS

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

INSTAGRAM

bottom of page