top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

Conquering Mt. Binacayan & Majestic Wawa Dam | Rodriguez, Rizal


I believe we must take adventures in order to know where we truly belong and every climb for me is special with each one having its own unique beauty and adventure. I just love seeing the scenery on top of the mountain. Every step I make, every slip, every sweat, every death-defying moments and nerve-wracking experience while on the trek are definitely worth it when I finally reached the top.


For me as a fresh grad and a newbie to the real industry of my chosen career as a hotelier, finding a free time to go on a trip or adventure was really, really hard because as we all know Hospitality Industry operates 24/7. So whenever I have the chance to take my day-off, me and my workmates immediately go with our plans and climbing a mountain is one of our newest favorite hobby aside from eating, of course! :) We decided to hike Mt. Binacayan at Rodriquez, Rizal because it was an easy trail and budget friendly for us. It is one of what they called "The Trio" (consists of three mountains) and the other mountains are Mt. Pamitinan and Mt. Hapunang Banoi. Our target is to witness the sea of clouds (which unfortunately we didn't get so see) because it's already 7:00am when we left Cubao but still, we did saw another awesome view of Rizal.



Here's a quick overview of Mt. Binacayan:

Major jumpoff: Brgy. Wawa, Rodriguez, Rizal LLA (Binacayan): 14°43′30.5′′N 121°11′26.1′′ E 424 MASL Days required / Hours to summit: 1 day / 1.5-3 hours (P); 2-3 hours (B) Specs: Minor, Difficulty 3/9 (P); 3/9 (B) / Trail class 1-4 Features: Limestone formations, scenic views of Sierra Madre and Rizal province

Source: www.pinoymountaineer.com

Before we start our hike with my bundok buddies

I was having a hard time at first because I brought too much things inside my bag, so it's better to keep in mind next hike to lessen all of those.

As you can see, the rocks there are all sharp so it's better for you to bring gloves, wear leggings or pants, and wear your best shoes for hiking.

Water break. Thank you Lord for the good weather. Not so sunny and the wind was cold.

Overlooking Wawa River. Look at that view! uuuggh so beautiful!

Buwis-buhay pose. So proud of myself that I conquered this nerve-wracking moment. Not so obvious to the picture, but I'm telling you, it's really a buwis-buhay haha!

Fun-filled hike! My bundok buddies are always on game to do a wacky pose. Hehe.

Anyway, according to our tour guide, this rock was being called as the "dinosaur's head" where the mouth is located to the lower left and the eyes in the middle. Looks like a dinosaur, right? :)

Doing the popular "spidey's pose". I really had fun while doing this haha!

Dumu-drone shot. HAHA

One of my favorite shot

And what's best to do after a tiring hike? A dip into Wawa Dam. This was the highlight of our trip. Being here is super relaxing. Fresh air, fresh water, and the scenery. It makes me want to live here!

Our "balsa" or cottage

Top view of Wawa Dam

Another biglaan trip was ended. It was nice to feel that I am able to see this amazing trip destination. That's why I really want to travel, it relieves all my stress and it made me feel the joy of being alive.

Happy travels!

xo, esca ♡

HOW TO GO THERE?

- From Cubao, ride UV Express Service located near Jollibee bound to Rodriguez, Rizal

- Ride a tricycle going to Brgy. Wawa jump off

- Upon arriving, register first and pay the registration and all the other fees before starting to hike

BUDGETED EXPENSES:

Php 15.00/each - Lrt 2 V. Mapa Station going to Araneta-Cubao Terminal Station

Php 50.00/each - Cubao to Rodriguez, Rizal (UV Express Service)

Php 10.00/each - Tricycle going to Brgy. Wawa jump off

Php 60.00/each - Environmental Fee

Php 5.00/group of 6 persons - Registration fee

Php 400.00/group of 6 persons - Guide fee (no fixed rate for the guide and it depends on your group)

Php 150.00 - Cottage rental at Wawa dam

Php 120.00/each - Food

Php. 10.00/each Tricycle going to Brgy. San Rafael (UV Express Terminal going back to Cubao)

Php 50.00/each - UV express going to Cubao

Php. 7.00/each - Jeep cubao to V. Mapa


RELATED POSTS

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

INSTAGRAM

bottom of page